Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu, Genevieve Nnaji, Banky W, Tolu Ogunlesi, others shine at The Future Awards 2011!

It was a night of fun, inspiration and motivation as The Future Awards held celebrated young achievers in the sixth season of its annual awards.

The event which held at the Landmark village, Oniru Estate, Lagos had winners drawn from different categories. Awards were in t

wenty one different categories ranging from the Musician of the Year, to the Creative Artist of the Year and Business Owner of the Year. There were also awards for Best Use of Advocacy, Screen Producer of the Year, Corporate Professional of the Year and the Young Person of the Year.

The event, which was themed around the elections, had a keynote address presented by the Mi

nister of Finance, former Managing

Director of Goldman Sachs and Founder of the Nigeria Leadership Initiative, Mr. Olusegun Aganga. In his speech, Aganga appreciated the efforts to make a difference exhibited by the youths awarded and entreated the others to continue to work towards personal achievements and nation building.

In his speech, Creative Director of The Future Awards, Chude Jideonwo gave reasons why there is enough of talking. Particularly directing his speech at captains of industries and governance, Jideonwo urged leaders to realise the pertinent challenges of being a youth in Nigeria and provide insightful and wide guidance, especially in this time. “Put your money where your mouth is,” he charged the guests as they gave a standing ovation. “It is no longer cool to be disinterested.”

The night was also spiced up with themed performances from particularly social conscious artistes. Lara George performed her track on unemp

loyment, Chibuzo, Soundsultan and M.I performed their 2010 hit to remind all present that it was past 2010 and there still is no constant electricity. Banky W, who also won an award for Musician of the Year thrilled the audience with a performance from his work in progress.

The winners were then announced across categories with Tolu Ogunlesi winning in the Journalist of the Year Award; Matse Uwatse winning in the OAP – Radio Category and FAB winning the Magazine of the Year Category.

It was a surprise moment as Nnaemeka Ikegwonu, a young man involved in advocacy for farming through the radio in Eastern Nigeria, was announced the winner of the biggest prize. Nnaemeka, who is also an Ashoka Fellow and a winner of the Rolex International Young Laureate Program, won the Young Person of the Year Award in a category that also

had Music Producer and Entreprenuer, Don Jazzy and Screen Diva, Genevieve Nnaji. Other finalists in the category include Ojoma Ochai(Assistant Country Manager, British Council); Uche Eze(New Media entrepreneuer); Makinde Adeagbo(Senior Software Engineer with Facebook); Debo Olaosebikan (Scientist), N

neka Egbuna(Musician); Blessing Okagbare(Athlete) and Psquare (Musician).

All the winners are aged 18 to 31. “Every year we continue to make the point that we are not one of those people who say Nigeria is a great country as a cliché,” says Adebola Williams, who is the event’s operations director, said. “We are ready to show anyone that there is a new generation that has integrity, that is not corrupt and that is ready to build this nation. We are proud, immensely proud to present a group of scientists, artists, entrepreneurs and others who are ready to make contributions towards the development of their country.”

The event also had an Aspire viewing centre where secondary school students, usually below the age of 18 get to have a feel of how the awards is organised in a venue adjacent the venue of the awards. These younger ones get to see the role models honoured on a screen in their own venue and are expected to be motivated by such experience to make meaningful impact especially in those early years.

Guests included Prof and Dr. (Mrs) Pat Utomi, Chief Dele Momodu, Tonye Cole, the Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Richard Mofe-Damijo (representing the Governor of Delta State), Bene Uche, Patrick and Iretiola Doyle, TY Bello, Ayo Animashaun, Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Nneka,

You can watch part of the event, which was streamed live on the internet courtesy of Paradigm Initiative Nigeria (PIN) onhttp://www.ustream.tv/channel/tfa2011.

The event was supported by Access Bank, HiTV, Virgin Atlantic, the Miccom Golf Resorts, O’naphtalli, Y! (www.ynaija.com), Cool FM and Wazobia FM.

Complete list of Winners

Actor of the Year

Mercy Johnson

Best Use of Advocacy

Muideen Salawu

Best Use of Science

Debo Olaosebikan

Best Use of Technology

Tolu Iruoye

Business Owner of the Year

Bode Pedro (VEDA Technologies

Creative Artist of the Year

Aisha Augie – Kuta

Comedian of the Year

Seyi Law

Designer of the Year

Bridget Awosika

Excellence in Public Service

Emmanuel Etim

Journalist of the Year

Tolu Ogunlesi (NEXT)

Magazine of the Year


Musician of the Year

Banky W

Music Producer of the Year


On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio)

Maste Uwatse (Wazobia FM)

On-Air Personality of the Year (TV)

Tana Egbo Adelan

Professional of the Year (Corporate)

Tokini Peterside

Professional of the Year (Creative)

Janet Nwose

Screen Producer of the Year

Clarence Peters

Sportsperson of the Year

Vincent Enyeama

Team of the Year


Young Person of the Year

Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu.

More information on the nominees is on www.thefuturenigeria.com.

click to enlarge image(s)

2 comment(s):

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...